Eno • Hyde - High Life

Eno • Hyde

High Life

Warp Records

The Twilight Sad - Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave

The Twilight Sad

Nobody Wants to Be Here and Nobody Wants to Leave

FatCat Records

Anathema - Distant Satellites


Distant Satellites


Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders - Playmates

Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders


Fat Possum Records

Swans - To Be Kind


To Be Kind

Young God Records

sleepmakeswaves - Love of Cartography


Love of Cartography


The Tea Party - The Ocean at the End

The Tea Party

The Ocean at the End

Anthem Entertainment

Alcest - Shelter



Prophecy Productions

Restorations - LP3



SideOneDummy Records

Opeth - Pale Communion


Pale Communion


At this point Sweden’s Opeth have all but severed their death metal roots. Jazz-fusion elements from 2011’s Heritage are explored further; including Damnation‘s melancholy and dramatic strings of Mikael Åkerfeldt’s Storm Corrosion collaboration with Steven Wilson. He again sheds Opeth’s earlier cookie monster guttural growls, replaced with clean melodic vocals. That beauty is contrasted by menacing keyboards, synthesizers, and organs that stand on equal footing as other instrumentation. There are some moments of guitar heroics but this album does take the jazz approach of recognizing individual contributions. It’s an approach to prog metal that’s esoteric on the surface but quite accessible to any listener that likes a challenge.

Best songs

Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra – “What We Loved Was Not Enough”
The Twilight Sad – “In Nowheres”
Chevelle – “One Ocean”
The Tea Party – “The Ocean at the End”
Lost in the Trees – “Past Life”
Liars – “Pro Anti Anti”
Godflesh – “Shut Me Down”
Broken Records – “I Won’t Leave You in the Dark”
Manic Street Preachers – “Walk Me to the Bridge”
Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders (feat. Sharon Van Etten) – “To Keep & to Be Kept”
The Smashing Pumpkins – “Run2Me”
Iceage – “Glassy Eyed, Dormant And Veiled”
Junius – “Battle in the Sky”
Lantlôs – “Melting Sun IV: Jade Fields”
In-Flight Safety – “Animals”
Big Wreck – “Hey Mama”
Caribou – “Our Love”
††† – “Op†ion”
Peter Murphy – “Low Tar Stars”
Hey Rosetta! – “What Arrows”
Devin Townsend Project – “Universal Flame”
Amplifier – “Black Rainbow”
Against Me! – “Black Me Out”
The Gaslight Anthem – “Dark Places”
Fucked Up – “The Art of Patrons”
Mariachi El Bronx – “Eternal”
Old Man Gloom – “A Hideous Nightmare Lies Upon the World”
Cloud Nothings – “I’m Not Part of Me”
We Were Promised Jetpacks – “A Part of It”
Crippled Black Phoenix – “You’ll Be Murdered”
Black Map – “And We Explode Pt. 2”